One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston

one last stop by casey mcquiston book cover
one last stop by casey mcquiston book cover

Thanks to St Martins Press for providing a review copy of One Last Stop

One Last Stop was hands down my most anticipated read of 2021. Needless to say, I was very excited when I got offered an early digital copy. It took me a long time to write this review after reading the book – simply because I found it really hard to articulate how much I loved this book.

For cynical twenty-three-year-old August, moving to New York City is supposed to prove her right: that things like magic and cinematic love stories don’t exist, and the only smart way to go through life is alone. She can’t imagine how waiting tables at a 24-hour pancake diner and moving in with too many weird roommates could possibly change that. And there’s certainly no chance of her subway commute being anything more than a daily trudge through boredom and electrical failures.

But then, there’s this gorgeous girl on the train.

Jane. Dazzling, charming, mysterious, impossible Jane. Jane with her rough edges and swoopy hair and soft smile, showing up in a leather jacket to save August’s day when she needed it most. August’s subway crush becomes the best part of her day, but pretty soon, she discovers there’s one big problem: Jane doesn’t just look like an old school punk rocker. She’s literally displaced in time from the 1970s, and August is going to have to use everything she tried to leave in her own past to help her. Maybe it’s time to start believing in some things, after all.

Casey McQuiston’s One Last Stop is a magical, sexy, big-hearted romance where the impossible becomes possible as August does everything in her power to save the girl lost in time.

Casey McQuiston pulled no emotional punches in One Last Stop. They delivered an emotionally complex and wonderfully romantic story that had me sobbing multiple times. Fans of Red, White and Royal Blue will recognize the author’s signature witty banter – this book had me laugh out loud more than any other book in recent memory. While this book was predominantly a contemporary romance, it did have a time traveling twist that I really enjoyed and think really contributed to the overall emotional impact of the story.

August began One Last Stop as a thoroughly lost soul – she had just recently moved to NYC totally alone, leaving behind her mother (and their amateur sleuthing). When she responds to a room for rent ad, she stumbles into one of the best roommate/ found family groups I’ve ever read about. Through her growing relationships with her roommates, August really began to blossom as a character. Her journey to finding herself and fitting into her new environment was both relatable and endearing to read about.

August and Jane are my new favorite romance couple – right off the bat they had incredible chemistry and were heartwarming together. Not only did they have incredible tension and payoff, they also had the mystery between them of who Jane was and how she got to be stuck in modern times. This uncertainty in their relationship really helped force August to confront her feelings for Jane and confront herself about what she wanted in her life.  

This book is all about the characters – every single one was intricately faceted and fascinating to read about. I loved learning about their relationship dynamics and how they all stumbled into each other’s lives. They were all supportive of each other and really uplifted each other – I want spin-off books for each of them, honestly. 

If there were any doubts in my mind that Casey McQuiston would become an autobuy author for me, One Last Stop cleared them up. This is a thoroughly romantic story about finding oneself and the strength of found family. It’s also a love letter to New York and breakfast foods, and who can’t get behind both of those things. I cannot wait to read whatever Casey McQuiston writes in the future. 5/5 

PS: this book made me cry over strawberry milkshake PopTarts. I won’t provide context at this time.

You may also like

Leave a Reply