Very Sincerely Yours by Kerry Winfrey

Very Sincerely Yours by Kerry Winfrey
Very Sincerely Yours by Kerry Winfrey

Thank you to Berkley Romance for the gifted copy of Very Sincerely Yours

Just last year I read and really loved Not Like the Movies by Kerry Winfrey – it had the cozy and slightly corny vibes that I loved in early 2000s rom com movies. When I found out that her new book, Very Sincerely Yours, was inspired by You’ve Got Mail (arguably one of the best rom coms ever), I couldn’t wait to dig into it.

Teddy Phillips never thought she’d still be spending every day surrounded by toys at almost thirty years old. But working at a vintage toy store is pretty much all she has going on in her life after being unceremoniously dumped by her longtime boyfriend. The one joy that she’s kept is her not-so-guilty pleasure: Everett’s Place, a local children’s show hosted by Everett St. James, a man whom Teddy finds very soothing . . . and, okay, cute.

Teddy finds the courage to write to him, feeling slightly like one of the children who write to him on his show. He always gives sound advice and seems like he has everything figured out–and he pretty much does: Everett has a great support system, wonderful friends, and his dream job. But there’s still that persistent feeling in the back of his mind that something’s missing.

When a woman named Theodora starts writing to Everett, he is drawn to her honesty and vulnerability. They continue writing to each other, all the while living their lives without meeting. When their worlds collide, however, they must both let go of their fears and figure out what they truly want–and if the future they want includes each other.

Kerry Winfrey definitely cranked up the quirk factor in this book compared to Not Like the Movies. Honestly, I found some elements of this book to be overexaggerated – like Teddy’s unwavering devotion to her ex-boyfriend and her lack of self-esteem. I found as the book went on, the quirkiness toned down to a more manageable level, but the beginning was a little hard to get through. After the first handful of chapters, the book was well paced – it was easy to get hooked and it was hard to put it down.

I found Teddy challenging to believe in/root for at the beginning of the book. I couldn’t buy into her pure blind devotion to her ex and her lack of self-worth. It was challenging to sympathize with her – her lack of self-worth was over the top and I had a hard time believing that a mature woman would behave that way. Once her friends began helping her understand her self-worth, she became a lot easier to empathize with. I loved reading about her growth journey from insecure to someone who put herself first and understood her self-worth.

Right from their first email, I was rooting for Teddy and Everett to end up together. Even in their emails they had great banter and chemistry – early in the book I was dying for them to meet face to face. When they finally did encounter each other, it was hilarious and really fit the tone of their relationship. Not only were they super cute together, but they also helped each other grow as people. By the end, it felt like they had really earned their happy ending.

Overall, Very Sincerely Yours was a pretty cute book, especially when you get past the first handful of chapters. I loved the homage to You’ve Got Mail and Mr Rogers – it gave this book a nostalgic tinge. If quirky books are your cup of tea, Very Sincerely Yours will be right up your alley – perfect for fans of Sally Thorne’s books. 4/5

You may also like

1 Comment

Leave a Reply